This burgher’s house once a hunting lodge is still the limelight of Trebon city‘s main square. It catches viewer’s attention with the outstanding Renaissance and Baroque gables. In 1714 it was the only coaching inn with a sovereign right to host the travelers.
The emergence of spas in 1883 brought prosperity and fame to a small city of Trebon. Musculoskeletal diseases are treated here using iron baths and peat bog wrappings.
For the record, it is still possible to find three golden cobblestones on the premises of Bílý Koníček. These so-called Stolpersteine or „the stones of vanished“ remind the passers-by about Holocaust victims. Trebon‘s installation in 2010 was first of its kind, since it is located outside of Prague.
Bílý koníček Hotel is the most photographed building on the square due to its unique architectural style, which inspired many filmmakers. No surprise this building was registered in Czech Republic’s list of cultural monuments.
The Gothic influence can be easily seen under the arcade entrance to the building. 1544 – the year of erection – can be found on the building’s corner pillar under the stone rose - Rosenbergs‘s coat of arm. The white four-storey building catches viewer’s attention with the outstanding Baroque and Renaissance gables.
The coaching inn and the adjacent basements went through radical reconstruction, thus the Reniassance gables are the only ones preserved from this period. The right wing was probably build in 1908.
In. 1970 the last major reconstruction of the buildin’s exterior was performed, as a result most part of the Gothic walls was demolished.
In 1992 the building together with land was sold to a private owner by the state
Communication- electricity, water conduit, canalization